Soldier of Fortune

I have often told you stories
About the way
I lived the life of a drifter
Waiting for the day
When I’d take your hand
And sing you songs
Then maybe you would say
Come lay with me love me
And I would surely stay

The cliff seemed just too big. It could house a 40 storey building, may be 45. There was no way he was going up and doing this. He was standing there peacefully, why would he give his heart a faint chance of an attack by going up there and jumping. He was sure this is not happening and he is going back. He turned around and started walking away. The image of the scene just would not go from his mind. So what if it is just water at the bottom. So what if everyone says that he will be fine. No chance. He started running. But the cliff continued to attract. His speed increased, the image became even clearer. He stopped. Turned around. Saw the cliff once again. Alright. A blank mind. The fastest sprint of his life. Twenty minutes and he was there, at the top of it.

But I feel I’m growing older
And the songs that I have sung
Echo in the distance
Like the sound
Of a windmill goin’ ’round
I guess I’ll always be
A soldier of fortune

The world had never looked more encouraging. Large mountains in front, greeting him with respect. The river flowing below, saluting him in honour. The blue sky above, smiling at his charm. The strong breeze gave him a strong hug. He looked at the river again. The fear was beginning to rise again. But he was not giving it another life. Eyes closed. One. Two. Three. Jump.

Many times I’ve been a traveller
I looked for something new
In days of old
When nights were cold
I wandered without you
But those days I thougt my eyes
Had seen you standing near
Though blindness is confusing
It shows that you’re not here

He opened his eyes. It felt like magic. His body was freely falling down. For a few seconds that felt like a lifetime, he felt like air. Flowing freely without any weight attached. For a moment he spread his arms and swayed like a bird. The mountains around seemed a canvas where he was the brush. For those moments, he had no past, no future, he was the present. He felt nature. He screamed like never before. Not out of fear this time. But of ecstasy. He touched the river, went down for a few seconds, came up, went down again. He was just going with the flow. He shrieked again. There were tears in his eyes. Something was patting him on his back. He had found the courage to go up but not to see backwards. The force increased. He felt pain on the left side of his chest. The scream was of pain this time. He just gave it away. It wasn’t clear, but he could see, before it became dark. Seemed like a dolphin. Seemed like a friend he had never found.

Now I feel I’m growing older
And the songs that I have sung
Echo in the distance
Like the sound
Of a windmill goin’ ’round
I guess I’ll always be
A soldier of fortune
I can hear the sound
Of a windmill goin’ ’round
I guess I’ll always be
A soldier of fortune

One response to “Soldier of Fortune

  1. dear sir,

    I really liked your blog and would like follow your writings, but i am unable to add your blog in RSS feed(google). Would be happy if you could help.

    regards,
    Pranita

Leave a Reply

